Dear College Crush,

After my friend Elaine and I finished eating our early dinner one evening, wetalked about girls stuff, love and our lives in general. Then she said something that inspired me to write this letter. She said what she had learned in her Marriage professor: A real love is the love that makes you a better person. It is the kind of love that is good for you in a sense that it makes you improve yourself. And if you do not end up with that certain person, don’t be angry or sad. Instead, be thankful for that love because it made you a better version of yourself. It’s like the crush you have in your class. You’ll study hard so that he’ll notice you. Then, since you’re studying hard, you grades will get high, till graduation comes, you’re a cum laude. And don’t worry if this crush of yours still ignores you. You lost nothing; you even gain something.

When she said that to me, it’s you who I thought about first. It’s funny because you barely enter my mind. I guess I owe you a real thank you.

College crush, thank you for being my inspiration to study hard. Well, of course, you are not the sole inspiration, but still a part of it. I kept on studying hard every day in the hope that you’ll see my name on that list posted on the registrar’s bulletin board, even if I think you don’t know me.

Also, thank you for some other changes I did to myself. I won’t be saying what are those things, but rest assured that all these changes that I’m saying made me a better person.

Just so you know, I feel like my spiritual life also improved for a few percentage inspired by you. And you know what, this is one of the reasons why I had this huge crush on you.

Above everything else, the most important thing is that you made me realize my love for writing. Before I met you, I already like writing. When you came to my life, like became love. Whenever I hear or read Plato’s words, “At the touch of love, everyone becomes a poet,” I would always be reminded of you. It is through you that I realized that I also love writing poems, poems that – most of that time- were about you. Thank you for helping me uncover another part of myself. Maybe I’m not the best poet, but I can say I am.

It is with you that I first felt a new emotion. I know it is more than the emotion I felt with my high school crush, but I think that emotion is less than love. Thank you for opening another door of emotion in my heart.

Well, I think this letter is quite long now. I don’t know if you could read this, but I hope you would. So, even if you probably can’t remember me anymore, I’m very much grateful for you. And just a line from a song says: “And I know that no matter where life takes me to, a part of me will always be with you.”

Thank you so much for making my college experience a well-inspired four years of my life. And thank you for everything I became because of you.

xoxo,
Ren, March 9, 2013 7:39pm

About princessrenren

sharing personal things without actually being personal. i have more sense when writing than speaking.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, Love, Nostalgia, Ren's Literature, Romance, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

