Both reading and writing make me a happy kiddie.

This is why love reading (and writing sometimes). It brings me to another world.

Writing. Technically, you’re doing something insignificant. You’re just sitting and writing with your pen and pencil (or with the keyboard, if you’re a techie).  You use words. Just words. But series of words make all the difference.

Reading. Again, it’s an insignificant act. You sit or lay down or whatever position you want and you just read.

But a word can make all the difference. A sentence can make you smile/confident/inspired for a while. A book can help you realize your dreams.

The pen is indeed mightier than the sword.

I read most of the time to be in another place. Call it escapism or whatever you want; it doesn’t really matter to me. Aside from going to another place, I read mostly whenever I feel nothing (read: flat affect).  And suddenly, I feel something. After two chapters, I’m smiling again or laughing or crying or very much kinikilig. When I read, I feel like I can be the superwoman I always wanted to be. I feel like I can achieve all my goals and dream, where in reality I’m always too coward to even make the first step.

When I read – be it a novel, a script, a poem or a short story by someone famous or those who authored the classics, or by someone ordinary like me – I can be anything I want.

I realized I love really love writing during my sophomore year in college. I consider that year to be my most artistic year yet. I write to be heard by other people, so that they would know that I have a voice, too. I write to say everything I have in mind – thoughts that seemed to be away whenever I try to actually say it aloud. I guess words are in me when I’m holding my pencil. Most of the time, I try to write in the hopes that someone would be inspired by my works.  The stories I’ve read touched my soul and have a special place in my heart. One way or another, I consider those stories as a part of my home. If those stories touched me already, maybe I can inspire others too with my words.

Words are just letters combined. But like in dancing, different movements of the body put together entertains us. Words don’t just entertain me, it touch my heart and my soul. It makes me who I am right now.

– Ren, Janaury 25, 2013 8:28pm

About princessrenren

sharing personal things without actually being personal. i have more sense when writing than speaking.
This entry was posted in Books, Everyday Life, Journalism, Love, Psychology, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

