She Used to be Mine

During Christmas break while almost everyone is having their break and the few deservings were still reporting for duty, my officemate gave me a copy of Sara Bareilles’ What’s Inside: Songs from Waitress album. It was only this week that I finally listened to the album.

I was first entertained with the “sugar butter flour” loop, and thought that this album would be fun, right until She Used to be Mine. I was doing something while the entire album was playing so the next day, I googled from the office computer the lyrics of the song, and finally understand why the song caught my attention from the last night.

“She’s imperfect but she tries…” It’s just one the songs that found you, and just happen to say all the things you’ve been keeping.

“She is broken and won’t ask for help…” is probably one the very special lines for me because how ironic that I work for the welfare of others yet I never ask for help from all the brokeness that’s inside me..

So as Classic Ren, I played the song the entire time and everyone in the office was like “what a sad song!”. Well, it sounds like that but it’s also empowering and gives hope. That entire day I was busy with all that I have set to accomplish on that day, but I had the urged to cry out there, which is very unusual for me considering I am very reserved when it comes to my feelings…

I can’t think of the words to say to describe how this song is making me cry and smile. I guess I’m lucky that I find songs like this to help me express everything inside me.

I think I just truly become a Sara Bareilles fan.

About princessrenren

sharing personal things without actually being personal. i have more sense when writing than speaking.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, Music, Thoughts, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

