Beauty

While doing some menial task in the office earlier, I realized something – that I am brave and courageous considering society’s standard of beauty.

I go out of the house every single day with no make up at all. I let my natural frizzy and messy hair down. I had my hair treated years ago, and thought it would make me happy, because let’s face it, we all wanted a perfect hair, like those of a celebrity, at least one point in my life. This I tell you – I hated my boring straight hair that time. It wasn’t me, not Ren who is playful and energetic. Good thing I was so busy with school that I didn’t notice that my roots were growing back. When the natural hair was long enough, I say goodbye and cut the fake hair.

I let my brows be just that. Yes, I had my brows shaped before, but I am not afraid to show the world my unthreaded brows.

I only use face powder on my face. I even hate using lip balm because it just makes my lips drier! I read that lip balms have an ingredient that makes our lips drier so we would continuously use it. What an asshole, if I may. Haha!

But yeah, there are times I hated myself. I hate my pimples, I hate my body. I just want to be someone I see on the magazines and on tv.

gif is from the internet. I have this saved in my laptop for a long time.

gif is from the internet. I have this saved in my laptop for a long time.

Of course, I know what I see is all fake. I’ve seen documentaries, read articles, watched interviews saying it’s all fake. Society’s standard of beauty doesn’t exist – because even the awesome Jennifer Lawrence have to be photoshopped.

photo from tumblr

photo from tumblr

Posted this That’s So Raven photo in this blog ages ago, and will post this again. I first watched this as a child, and it just stayed in my heart.

I will always be that ‘rebel’ child who won’t follow whatever standard of beauty. Wait, hang on, who are the “right people” to say that this is beauty, and that is not? I can’t promise to never be affected with it, but I have a good strong will.

I’m beautiful in my way ’cause God makes no mistakes. I’m on the right track, baby I was born this way. I am beautiful no matter what they say. Words can’t bring me down.

 

About princessrenren

sharing personal things without actually being personal. i have more sense when writing than speaking.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, Television, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

