Surprising Saturday

Last Saturday was indeed very memorable. It was something to cross off in my bucket list. I won’t even deny the fact that I have imagined myself doing it. In fact, I’ve tried doing that for more than few times  – in front of my mirror, before sleeping, while in the shower. I just never thought that it would happen in real life. That Saturday gave me the experience of being a host in an event.

Let me tell you that I am not a public speaker. I enjoyed most my Speech Communication subject back in college, but that’s because everything is scripted and well-practiced. I am not really a good converser, and to do adlibs in front of a lot of people is not thrilling to me.

I don’t have stage fright, but I was so nervous before the event started because I might say something horrible, or worse, something not appropriate. Anyway, through the help of my partner, I made it. It was my partner who was the real host, and I was just some support. I don’t mind, in fact, I enjoyed the whole experience.

I don’t think this will happen again, because to be honest, it wasn’t as awesome as Ellen DeGeneres or Neil Patrick Harris. I just love the fact that in the future, I can say that I’ve spoken in front of hundreds, (or a thousand?) of people. Maybe I should undergo some workshop to improve.

Also, I realized that I may like writing a script, but not this kind of script. I mean, I love to play with words, but writing what to say is very new to me. How do television staff write tons of these?

So if ever someone reading this wants to do something, then go ahead. If someone’s inviting you to dance even though you’re not really proud of your dancing skills, still say yes. You’ll love that you give yourself a chance to experience it.

I’m glad I said yes. 🙂

About princessrenren

sharing personal things without actually being personal. i have more sense when writing than speaking.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, Thoughts, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

