Saranggola sa Ulan

Time really pass by so quickly. It feels just like yesterday when I joined the World Youth Day (WYD) Local celebration in ADMU. The feeling is very alive but I think the talks are quite blurry already.

One thing that really stuck in my mind is the Jimmy Bondoc singing Saranggola sa Ulan. I can’t believe I’ve been listening to that song for one year now.

Saranggola sa Ulan is an old song by Gary Granada. It’s my first time tp hear the song. And I know a lot; maybe almost every participant in WYD heard it the first time as well. I won’t even pretend to know Gary Granada.

I can’t exactly remember what Jimmy Bondoc’s whole talk. But I remembered that before he sang the song, he said something like “Faith. Hope. Love. We know hope. We know love. But faith – it’s hard to define. It’s very subjective.” Sure enough, he’s right. The chorus of the song that has been one of my favorite mantra or motto or quote or whatever you want to call it says: “Ang pag-asay’s walang hanggan. Ang pag-ibig ay walang hadlang. At lilipad ang saranggola sa ulan.” ( Hope is infinite. Love don’t have barricade. And the kite will fly in the rain.) (I’m still working on my translation skills. But it pretty much has the same thought.)

The song is very easy to understand and has touched my heart since the beginning.

 

I posted an entry in tumblr showcasing my “photography skills” with my WYD Experience.

Making this entry made me miss school. Oh how I miss the activities when you’re a student!

About princessrenren

sharing personal things without actually being personal. i have more sense when writing than speaking.
This entry was posted in Music, Nostalgia, Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

