I am a mermaid!

I woke up 1:30 in the afternoon. My mom woke me up because she had to go downtown and do some stuff and I had to guard on our mini store.

My sleep was so good. I don’t even want to wake up anymore! Haha Yes, just like in the movie Inception.

I had a dream. A wonderful dream. I was a mermaid. I even had a special someone. We were swimming and really having fun.

As a Psychology major, I see dreams just as the things we’ve been thinking. Biologically speaking, the cerebral cortex just combine some information, mix it to make story which a lot of times are distorted. And since we’re asleep, the brain isn’t as active as it is supposed to be so memory is weak. (I hope this make sense!) Let me try to compare this to baking.

As I understand our lesson in Biopsychology (actually, we call it Neuro-Physiology), it’s something like this:  Let’s say you’re watching tv when you are baking. You have flour, egg, sugar, chocolate and other ingredients in front of you. You, as the brain already have the ingredients (memories/information in the brain). You are not really paying attention on what you put in the bowl. You just crack egg, flour, chocolate, sugar then just simply mix it without even measuring it  and put it in the oven and then your cookie(dream) is there! And since you are focused on watching, the cookie isn’t tasting really well. (The retrieval of the dream is hard).

Dreams, from Freud’s point of view is well… in another dimension, but I don’t even want to discuss it.

So why a mermaid? Few months ago, I was so obsessed with the Little Mermaid, singing Part of Your World and Under the Sea everyday. Also, whenever my cousins and I swim, I always pretend to be a mermaid. My current display photo in twitter is a mermaid. My power saver wallpaper in my phone is a gif of a mermaid swimming.

The special someone? Hmmm. Let’s just say I’m fancying my prince charming would come sooner. (c’mon, let’s admit it! We fantasize things like this before actually sleeping.)

The photo is not mine. I saw this in one of HP fanpage in facebook. This is probably circulating in Tumblr as well.

And maybe because, I’ve been obsessing with the Pretty Little Liars book series which also deals with boyfriends, flirting, kissing your sister’s boyfriend and all that stuff.

And I was totally satisfied with that. I get to live one of my dreams. I’m finally a mermaid! Yay!

Then I got bored while surfing the net, so I googled the meaning of a mermaid in a dream.

It says that “this is symbolic of letting our hearts and our passion overrule the analytical mind. Sometimes the stuff we are attracted to doesn’t have to make sense – and it’s ok to be captured by odd, otherworldly music. “

This is so me. In music, I listen to songs that I feel like I only know. I listen to classical music as well. I hate listening to songs which is totally popular as of the moment. It’s like when Adele’s songs Someone Like You, Rolling in the Deep, etc. are in everyone’s iPod, everyone’s posting a link in facebook and twitter, and I just ignore it. One day, I heard a wonderful song in the radio. Little did I know that it’s the hit song of Adele. I would like to listen to songs that touches my heart or find relevance to my life. I like to be unique even in this sense. I don’t want to go with the flow.

Another thing,  Being analytical? So me. I keep on rationalizing things. I even know that I am always over thinking about everything. I majored in a science field but right now my heart is for the arts. I wanna go out. I wanna share what I really want – the arts! Performing arts and writing is I guess my form of rebellion my analytical self.

“This is quite nice, as mermaids also represent wild freedom, rebellious spirits and ferocious independence (they can never be contained and frequently avoid settling). This is symbolic of perfect timing to create magic in our lives – by relaxing our vision and letting go of our grip a bit – we come up to show ourselves drenched in the glow of truly magical color.”

Again, so me. I never searched on the meaning of any of my dreams but this is really fits me. How totally awesome is this!

I found this interpretation here.

About princessrenren

sharing personal things without actually being personal. i have more sense when writing than speaking.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, Psychology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

